ARYAN SPEAKS: AHESTA BORO, MAH E MAN, AHESTA BORO..


Ahesta boro, maah e man, Ahesta boro....

Ahesta boro, maah e man, Ahesta boro….

Sometimes, amid all that tranquility of a night, when I see the moon in full bloom, drifting silently past the loafing clouds, I wonder about the man who first linked the moon to the expression of love…before anyone else could think of it. He must have been in a jovially ecstatic state of mind and madly in love with someone. I don’t know…they say so.

So, why the moon today…?

I like simple things. Simple words, simple thoughts, simple lines. Sometimes, these simple lines do wonders, they strike your mind and your heart like nothing else…..like the good old ‘A host of golden daffodils’. They just won’t get off your mind. So, a few days ago, while I was reading the beautiful novel ‘The Kite Runners’ by Khaleid Husseini, and as the novel took its first turn towards melancholy, I stumbled upon a line, a very simple line, a beautifully simple line..and it took me over..

Ahesta Boro, maah-e-man, Ahesta Boro..

Go slowly, my lovely moon, Go slowly..

I searched for the song, its lyrics, their meaning. This lovely line is from an age old Afghan wedding song. This song is sung in the background as the Bride and the Groom walk down the aisle, hand in hand, the teary eyed parents of the bride besides their beloved daughter and the proud parents of the Groom with their son, and the holy Koran held over their heads.  Could any lines other than these lines compliment that divine journey, the walk to remember, any better!!

I don’t  know of any such line…or song. Praying time to go slow, praying moon to go slow, praying the night to stretch herself. If we try to convert  these lines in our Hindustani, it will be,

Aahista badho, maahe man, Ahista badho…

Still beautiful.

So today, I am sharing the English translation of that beautiful song. While you read it, try to forget everything else you have on your mind…try to indulge yourself in the meaning..

Ahesta boro Mah-e-Man, ahesta boro,

(Go slowly my lovely moon, go slowly)

Make the morning into a key and throw it into a well.

Let the sun forget to rise in the east.

For I am with my love tonight.

Ahesta boro Mah-e-Man ,ahesta boro

 

The stars bear witness to her glowing face, her blooming grace,

The impish smile , the knowing eyes , the pregnant sigh.

The night stills to hear her voice….the world conspires to keep us together..

May the chariots of dawn be halted…for I am with my love tonight.

Ahesta boro Mah-e-Man, ahesta boro

 

We whisper, we smile, we laugh, we fight, we love,

Till dawn goes on our reverie….

We part ways to where our needs be, the golden rays separating us…

Moonshine keep us together….Moonshine deliver us..for I am with my love tonight.

Ahesta boro Mah-e-Man, ahesta boro.

And when I read these lines, my mind derived some clues about what was on the mind of that first man. A longing, a desire to somehow make the time go slow…to wait for him. Since then, many have tried to relate to the moon the expression of love…and some had envied it for being more beautiful than their love. Some had even tried to ridicule it…for being crazy enough to rise every night for the dark wily night which eventually mates with the dawn…leaving the moon only to fade into the sky..

 रोज़ तारों की नुमाइश में खलल पड़ता है ..

चाँद पागल  है अँधेरे में निकल पड़ता है..

Nevertheless, the moon has never failed to  remind us of that one beautiful face…step out, and look up in the sky, see the moon today…and then, the lines written above will complete themselves..

उनकी  याद आई है… ऐ साँसों ज़रा धीरे चलो,

धडकनों से भी  ईबादत में खलल पड़ता है..

Keep Reading..

9 thoughts on “ARYAN SPEAKS: AHESTA BORO, MAH E MAN, AHESTA BORO..

  1. Speechless. I will comment again. . .once I find my words back.
    This particular blog, is a piece of art. .
    Overwhelmed with ecstacy . . ! <3

  2. really beautiful poem and You have made it easier to understand by describing the seen “This song is sung in the background as the Bride and the Groom walk down the aisle, hand in hand, the teary eyed parents of the bride besides their beloved daughter and the proud parents of the Groom with their son, and the holy Koran held over their heads.”

  3. I don’t know what’s this thing your blog entails….that inspires me write the stuff like you write (and that is more than a compliment). Like When I leave your blog I want to write about the wind, the sky, the waters and their depths!!!

    I really like your blog its very very original and beautiful! Keep the good work up!
    :)

    • Indeed that’s more than a compliment. Thankew…..
      And yes, when i try to visit you blog i cant see anything….can you give me the link to it in following comment?

  4. ur blogs are getting better day by day ….
    this blog really compels the mind to think the scenes as u read and never let the mind to get out of it even after finishing the extraordinary lines……..
    it also reminded me of the poem THE DAFFODILS and THE PALANQUIN BEARER……

Leave a Reply

